Young Biophysicist Award

In 1995, the Society instituted an award for young investigators: the Young Biophysicist Award (YBA). Its purpose is to encourage members of the Society who were about to or had recently embarked on a career in biophysics, but there are no age restrictions. The award carries a cash prize of $500. Many recipients of the Young Biophysicist have become successful academics in Australia or overseas.

Apply Now

Past Recipients

2022: Lisanne Spenkelink - "Single-molecule genotyping of thousands of variants"

2021: Emile Flood - "Molecular dynamics simulations to elucidate the origins of rapid inactivation in hERG"

2018: Amanda Buyan – “Understanding Piezo1’s Relationship with Lipids”

2016: Evelyne Deplazes – “Phospholipid binding activity of the venom peptides ProTx-I and ProTx-II”

2015: Charles Cox – “Mechanosensitive Gating In Piezo1 Channels”

2013: Chai Ann Ng – “PAS domain of Kv11.1 Channels: Structure, function and clinical significance”

2012: Tamsyn Hilder – “Characterising various inward rectifier potassium channels”

2010: David Szekely – “Toward the virtual heart: graphics processor accelerated interactive simulations of cardiac function”

2009: Megan O’Mara – “Linking bacterial structures to human multi-drug transporter function”

2008: Till Böcking – “Chasing the Mechanism of Clatherin Coat Disassembly by Single Object Fluorescence Imaging”

2007: John Gehman – “Boltzmann-statistics analysis of solid-state NMR experiments”

2006: Catherine Clarke – “A helically structured M1-P1 loop “fine tunes” the pH sensitivity of acid sensitive two-pore domain potassium (TASK) channels”

2005: Ben Corry – “The mechanism of fast gating in ClC chloride channels”

2004: Matthew Perugini – “Hexameric structure of GDP-mannose pyrophosphorylase: a key enzyme and novel drug target in Leishmania”

2002: Louise Brown – “Structure of the Inhibitory Region of Troponin I in the ternary complex by Site-Directed Spin Labeling EPR Spectroscopy”


The conditions of the award are that applicants:

  • Should be a PhD candidate, or be within 5 years following the award of a PhD or equivalent degree;
    be members of the Society of at least 12 months standing at the time of application;
  • Finalists must contribute a presentation at the annual ASB conference;
  • Must submit one ELECTRONIC copy of their application (either in pdf or MS Word) and send it to the ASB Secretary.
  • Let the local conference organiser know that you are applying for a YBA when you submit your abstract.
  • Applications should be sent by the time abstracts are due for the annual conference. The application should include a curriculum vitae, together with a full publication list.

The Society reserves the right to not make an award in any one year.


Eligibility Criteria & Application Procedure

  • Nominees should have been members of the Society for at least one year immediately preceding their nomination.
  • Nominators should be current ASB members.
  • Nominations should be sent to the ASB Secretary by the advertised closing date.
  • Nominations should consist of a covering letter summarising the achievements of the nominee, a Curriculum vitae and a complete list of publications.

If a candidate’s nomination is not successful in any given year, the Award Committee will re-consider it the following year, preferably in an updated form.

Once a nomination has been considered in two successive years, it would not normally be considered again in the next one or two years. A maximum of four nominations for a single candidate in a six-year period will be considered by the Award Committee.


Join The Australian Society for Biophysics

Join our community and get connected with other like-minded people with a passion for biophysics!