Bob Robertson Award

The Bob Robertson Award recognises outstanding contributions to the field of biophysics in Australia and New Zealand. The award was inaugurated at the 26th Annual ASB meeting in 2002 to commemorate the contributions of Sir Rutherford (Bob) Robertson to the Society and to Australian science in general.

Nominate Now

About Bob Robertson

During his career, he was Chair of Botany at the University of Adelaide, a member of the executive of CSIRO and director of the Research School of Biological Sciences at ANU. One of his most significant contributions was the creation of the Australian Research Grants Committee (now the ARC) where he instituted a process for the competitive distribution of the funds.

In addition to his significant contributions to Plant Physiology, Sir Bob Robertson played an important role in the establishment of Australian science policies.

View Bob's Profile on CSIROpedia

Past Recipients

2019: Assoc/Prof Margaret Sunde

2017: Professor Leann Tilley

2016: Professor Michael Parker

2015: Professor Jamie Vandenberg

2014: Professor Alan Mark

2013: Professor Glenn King

2011: Professor Boris Martinac

2009: Professor Frances Separovic

2008: Professor Ray Norton

2007: Professor Cris dos Remedios

2006: Professor Peter Barry

2005: Professor Philip Kuchel

2004: Professor Peter Gage

2003: Professor Alex Hope

2002: Professor Hans Coster


The conditions of this annual award are as follows:

  • Applications will be evaluated by a committee of Society Council members, ex-council members or former awardees.
  • Awardees will be presented with a medal and $250 at the annual conference and will present a lecture at that conference.

The Bob Robertson Award is open to all financial members of the Society meeting the eligibility criteria and is designed to recognise outstanding contributions to biophysics. While research contributions are of primary importance, other contributions, including biophysics teaching or service to the discipline, will also be considered. The research or other contribution should have been undertaken principally in Australia or New Zealand. There is no age limit on applicants for this award.

Eligibility Criteria & Application Procedure

  • Nominees should have been members of the Society for at least two years immediately preceding their nomination.
  • Nominators should be current ASB members.
  • Nominations should be sent to the ASB Secretary by the advertised closing date.
  • Nominations should consist of a covering letter summarising the achievements of the nominee, a Curriculum vitae including a complete list of publications, and two confidential referees reports sent direct to the Secretary. Referees should address the specified selection criteria in a report of 2 pages or less. Nominators should seek the approval of the nominee prior to submitting a nomination.
  • If a candidate’s nomination is not successful in any given year, the Award Committee will re-consider it the following year, preferably in an updated form.

Once a nomination has been considered in two successive years, it would not normally be considered again in the next one or two years. A maximum of four nominations for a single candidate in a six-year period will be considered by the Award Committee.


Join The Australian Society for Biophysics

Join our community and get connected with other like-minded people with a passion for biophysics!