The Australian Society of Biophysics

The Australian Society for Biophysics (ASB) represents researchers, teachers, and others with an interest in the application of physical and physicochemical methods to the study of biological systems. The first meeting of the Society was held in 1975 and since then the Annual Meeting of the society is among the largest gathering of Biophysicists in Australia and New Zealand.

The Society has a long-standing tradition of encouraging young biophysicists, and this is reflected in the presentation of student posters and student bursaries at the annual conference, as well as the presentation of the Young Biophysicist Awards.

The Society also strongly encourages young investigators to make oral presentations at the annual conference.

To find out more about the research undertaken by our members follow the links to the different research groups. For more information on the ASB, please email any member of the Executive Council or a state representative.

Join ASB

The Executive Council

Elizabeth Hinde – President
Elizabeth Hinde – President

University of Melbourne
E: elizabeth.hinde@unimelb.edu.au
T: +61 3 8344 5112

Lisanne Spenkelink – Vice President
Lisanne Spenkelink – Vice President

University of Wollongong
E: lisanne@uow.edu.au

Toby Bell – Treasurer
Toby Bell – Treasurer

Monash University
E: Toby.Bell@monash.edu

Donna Whelan – Secretary
Donna Whelan – Secretary

La Trobe University, Bendigo
E: d.whelan@latrobe.edu.au
P: 03 5444 7369

Matt Baker – Past President
Matt Baker – Past President

Scientia Senior Lecturer
University of New South Wales
E: matthew.baker@unsw.edu.au
Twitter: @phatmattbaker

A young man giving a lecture about biophysics

Stay in the Loop

Follow our Twitter account to stay up to date with all the latest news, events and community happenings. If you’d like more information about the ASB you can send us an email via our Contact page.

Join The Australian Society for Biophysics

Join our community and get connected with other like-minded people with a passion for biophysics!