The Bob Robertson Award of the Australian Society for Biophysics

About the award

To recognise the outstanding contributions of Sir Rutherford (Bob) Robertson to the field of biophysics in Australia and New Zealand and science in general, the Bob Robertson Award inaugurated at the 26th Annual ASB meeting in 2002.

Past Recipients

  • 2017: Assoc/Prof Margaret Sunde
  • 2017: Professor Leann Tilley
  • 2016: Professor Michael Parker
  • 2015: Professor Jamie Vandenberg
  • 2014: Professor Alan Mark
  • 2013: Professor Glenn King
  • 2011: Professor Boris Martinac
  • 2009: Professor Frances Separovic
  • 2008: Professor Ray Norton
  • 2007: Professor Cris dos Remedios
  • 2006: Professor Peter Barry
  • 2005: Professor Philip Kuchel
  • 2004: Professor Peter Gage
  • 2003: Professor Alex Hope
  • 2002: Professor Hans Coster

  • Conditions

    The conditions of this annual award are as follows:
    • Nominations will be called for not less than 6 months before each annual conference of the Society and will close not less than 4 months before the conference.
    • Applications will be evaluated by a committee of Society Council members, ex-Council members or former awardees, with a decision on awards made not less than 2 months before each conference.
    • Awardees will be presented with a medal and a cheque for $250 at the annual conference and will present a lecture at that conference.
    • The Bob Robertson Award is open to all financial members of the Society meeting the eligibility criteria and is designed to recognise outstanding contributions to biophysics. While research contributions are of primary importance, other contributions, including to biophysics teaching or service to the discipline, will also be considered. The research or other contribution should have been undertaken principally in Australia or New Zealand. There is no age limit on applicants for this award.

    Eligibility Criteria & Application Procedure

    • Nominees should have been members of the Society for at least two years immediately preceding their nomination.
    • Nominators should be current members of the Society.
    • Nominations should be sent to the ASB Secretary by the advertised closing date (not less than 4 months before each conference).
    • Nominations should consist of a covering letter summarising the achievements of the nominee, a Curriculum vitae including a complete list of publications, and two confidential referees reports sent direct to the Secretary. Referees should address the specified selection criteria in a report of 2 pages or less. Nominators should seek the approval of the nominee prior to submitting a nomination.
    • If a candidate's nomination is not successful in any given year, the Award Committee will re-consider it the following year, preferably in an updated form. Once a nomination has been considered in two successive years, it would not normally be considered again in the next one or two years. A maximum of four nominations for a single candidate in a six-year period will be considered by the Award Committee.

    Selection Criteria

    • Quality and impact of published work in journals of high international reputation
    • Service to the biophysics community
    • Excellence in teaching of biophysics

    Selection Procedures

    • Awards will be decided upon by an Award Committee consisting of four Society Council members, ex-Council members or former awardees, together with the Society Secretary, who should normally not be a voting member.
    • No person shall serve on the Award Committee for more than two consecutive terms.
    • The composition of the Award Committee will be decided either by the ASB Council or by election at the AGM of the Society held during the annual conference.
    • When an award nomination is received for a member of the Award Committee, that member will step down from the Award Committee and be replaced by another member meeting the criteria for Award Committee membership. The replacement will be chosen by the ASB Council.
    • Where a clear decision cannot be made by the Award Committee, the application may be sent to a third referee, usually an eminent international scientist not connected with any applicant.
    • If the Award Committee judges that none of the nominations merits an award in a given category, then no award will be made in that round.