The Bob Robertson Award recognises outstanding contributions to the field of biophysics in Australia and New Zealand. The award was inaugurated at the 26th Annual ASB meeting in 2002 to commorate the contributions of Sir Rutherford (Bob) Robertson to the Society and to Australian science in general. In addition to his significant contributions to Plant Physiology, Sir Bob Robertson played an important role in the establishments of Australian science policies. During his career he was Chair of Botany at the University of Adelaide, a member of the executive of CSIRO and director of the Research School of Biological Sciences at ANU. One of his most significant contributions was the creation of the Australian Research Grants Committee (now the ARC) where he instituted a process for the competitive distribution of the funds.
To see a list of past recipients and to find out more about the eligibility criteria and application procedure follow this link.

In 1995, the Society instituted an award for young investigators: the Young Biophysicist Award (YBA). Its purpose is to encourage members of the Society who were about to or had recently embarked on a career in biophysics, but there are no age restrictions. The award carries a cash prize of $500. Many recipients of the Young Biophysicist have become successful academics in Australia or overseas.
On this page you can see a lit of past recipients and to find out more about the eligibility criteria and application procedure follow

Biophysicists are by nature innovative. Crossing the boundaries of many scientific fields, biophysics inherently calls for the development of new techniques, equipment and models. The McAulay-Hope Prize for Original Biophysics is designed to recognise true originality and innovation in the field of biophysics, rather than the use of existing techniques or applications. The award was set up by Prof. Hope and honours the contribution of Alexander Leicester McAulay, a Professor of Physics at the University of Tasmania and (almost certainly) Australia's first Biophysicist.
On this page you can see a list of past recipients and to find out more about the eligibility criteria and application procedure follow .

The society launched this initiative at the 2019 ASB meeting with the intention to provide financial support to ASB members with primary caring responsibilities whilst they are attending scientific conferences.
The award is named in honour of Prof Jan Anderson (1932-2015), who was born in Dunedin, New Zealand, and was President of the Australian Society for Biophysics (1984-85). After completing her studies in New Zealand, Jan undertook a PhD in organic chemistry at the University of California and then moved to Australia to work for the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) at the Division of Plant Industry in Canberra. By 1982 she had become Chief Research Scientist, a position she held until her retirement in 1995 and then continued as an Adjunct Professor at the Australian National University. Throughout her research career, Jan travelled and collaborated around the world and she was one of the most internationally recognized Australian plant scientists. Her research covered the molecular organisation of thylakoid membranes, the molecular mechanisms of light regulation in plants, and the structure and dynamics of photosystem II. Her academic leadership was acknowledged widely and recognized by her election to the Australian Academy of Science (AAS) in 1987 and the Royal Society in 1996.
Before applying, please read the eligibility criteria and application procedure. .