The Australian Society of Biophysics

The Australian Society for Biophysics (ASB) represents researchers, teachers, and others with an interest in the application of physical and physicochemical methods to the study of biological systems. The first meeting of the Society was held in 1975 and since then the Annual Meeting of the society is among the largest gathering of Biophysicists in Australia and New Zealand.
The Society has a long-standing tradition of encouraging young biophysicists, and this is reflected in the presentation of student poster and Student Bursaries at the annual conference, as well as the presentation of the Young Biophysicist Awards. The Society also strongly encourages young investigators to make oral presentations at the annual conference.
To find out more about the research undertaken by our members follow the links to the different research groups. For more information on the ASB, please email any member of the Executive Council (below) or a state representative. The society is governed by the constitution of the ASB, Inc. Minutes from past AGM meetings can be found here.

ASB Executive Council


Adelle Coster
School of Mathematics & Statistics
University of New South Wales
Sydney NSW 2052

Immediate Past President

Pierre Moens
School of Science and Technology.
University of New England
Armidale, NSW 2351
Phone: +61 (0)2 6773 3740
Fax: +61 (0)2 6773 3267

Secretary and Public Officer

Megan O'Mara
Research School of Chemistry
Australian National University
Canberra, ACT 2601
Phone: +61 2 6125 3739
Email: Megan.O'


Ronald Clarke
School of Chemistry
University of Sydney
Sydney NSW 2006
Phone: +61 (0)2 9351 4406
Fax: +62 (0)2 9351 3329

Past President (co-opted to Executive)

Frances Separovic
School of Chemistry
University of Melbourne
Melbourne VIC 3010
Phone: +61 (0)3 9035 7539
Fax: +61 (0)3 9347 5180


Nicola Beard
College of Medicine
Australian National University
Acton, ACT 2601


Adam Hill
Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute
Darlinghurst, NSW 2010


David Poger
School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
The University of Queensland
Brisbane, QLD 4072


Ingo Koeper
School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
Flinders University
Adelaide, SA 5001


David Gell
Menzies Institute for Medical Research
The University of Tasmania
Hobart, TAS 7000


Marc Antoine Sani
The University of Melbourne
Parkville, VIC 3010


Michael Thomas
La Trobe Institute of Molecular Sciences
La Trobe Univeristy
Melbourne, VIC 3086


Jane Allison
Massey University
Auckland, New Zealand