2015 marked the 40th anniversary of the Australian Society for Biophysics. In recognition of this occasion, the 2015 ASB meeting was held in Armidale, NSW, the location of the 1st annual meeting of the society. For our 40th Birthday, we have organised a special program that includes a symposium on Protein Structure and Dynamics, jointly held by the Australian Society for Biophysics and the Biophysics Society of Japan.

A high resolution picture of the group photo is available here .

The program of the 2015 ASB meeting can be downloaded here .

Keynote and invited speakers for the 2015 ASB conference

  • Enrico Gratton, UC Irvine, USA
  • David Millar, The Scripps Research Institute, USA
  • Osamu Nureki, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Yves Mely, University of Strasbourg, France
  • Michelle Digman, UC Irvine, USA
  • Len Fisher, University of Bristol, UK
  • Thorsten Wohland, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Satoshi Takahashi, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Amitabha Chattopadhyay, Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology, India
  • Bruce Cornell, Surgical Diagnostics, Australia
  • Bill Sawyer, The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Paul Gooley, The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Antoine van Oijen, University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Katharina Gaus, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Jenny Martin, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Till Boecking, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Louise Brown, Macquarie University, Australia
  • Leann Tilley, The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Stephen Holt, ANSTO, Australia
  • Jackie Wilce, Monash University, Australia
  • Matthew Perry, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute, Australia
  • Megan O'Mara, Australian National University, Australia
  • Elizabeth Hinde, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Yuning Hong, The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Evelyne Deplazes, University of Queensland, Australia

    Research themes:

    • General Biophysics
    • Membrane Biophysics
    • Computational Biophysics
    • Protein Structure and Dynamics (Joint ASB-BSJ symposium)
    • Biophotonics (Bill Sawyer Symposium)
    • Ion channels and Transporters
    • Biomolecular interactions

    The organising committee:

    • Pierre Moens, University of New England (chair)
    • Charles Cranfield, University of Technology Sydney
    • Jim McFarlane, University of New England
    • Derek Laver, University of Newcastle
    • Chris Garvey, ANSTO
    • Evelyne Deplazes, University of Queensland (webmaster)